top of page

Feeling Clean + Green with The Seaweed Bath Co. Body Wash

I am sharing with ya'll my favorite body wash and the reasons as to why I love it. I buy it off of Amazon, but you can find it at Whole Foods and Target; it's Seaweed Bath Co. Body Wash! Just an FYI, this is not sponsored — I honestly just want to share this product with people because it’s so good and ALL natural.

 

Two years ago I made the switch to a cleaner and greener body wash - The Seaweed Bath Co. Body Wash. When I found out I was pregnant with my second child I knew I needed to dig a little deeper into the self products I use every day (make-up, face cleaner, tooth paste and BODY WASH.)

Why was an all natural 'clean' body wash product so important during my second pregnancy and not my first?

Because with my first pregnancy I was so tunnel vision focused on 'clean' ingredients in my food that I didn't even think about the products I used on my skin. And then when my first child was born she had so many skin issues. I wanted better for myself. I wanted better for my children whether they were in my womb or walking on this earth.


So 2 years ago is when I really began my research into the products I used. I was shocked to learn how these ingredients can affect so many aspects of our bodies (hormones, cancer growth and skin issues.) Below I have have broken down some of the big dogs that I avoid in my products and in the research to avoid the ingredients I listed below is how I stumbled upon The Seaweed Bath Co. Body Wash.

Lets talk about those yuck ingredients.


Yuck chemicals

We have come to know how important it is to look at the ingredient list of food products, but have you ever stopped and looked at the ingredients you are putting on your body? The list of ingredients (some are hard to pronounce or even know what they are), your body is absorbing this as you let the lather of the soap sit on your skin for a minute. The list of chemicals are not always necessary. The things that really make me cringe to see them on my products are:

  • Phthalates - Phthalates are known endocrine disruptors (there are 8 endocrine glands to protect by the way) and associated with decreased fertility, pregnancy loss, and adverse birthing outcomes, however the underlying parts remain to be fully known as it is still being studies. With all that being said, why would I want this ingredient around me or my family?

  • Parabens - This one is a tricky one as it can go by other words in your products "butylparaben", "methylparaben" and "propylparaben", aka Parabens! Don't you just hate that products try to hide names? Well this one has been a known ingredient that isn't a good one in our skin products. Why? First, know why this ingredient is used - it's to help the product have a longer shelf life (and we are putting on our skin ya'll!) Parabens are said to disrupt hormone function by mimicking oestrogen. Too much oestrogen can trigger an increase in breast cell division and growth of tumors, which is why paraben use has been linked to breast cancer and reproductive issues. Not great sounding right? And for me I have breast cancer in my family, so I want to steer clear from this one.

  • Formaldehyde - Yes, this is in your products! I think we have all heard of this word, but do you know what it actually is? It's a colorless, flammable gas used in cosmetics, production of fertilizer, paper, and plywood, as well as used as a preservative in antiseptics and medicine, among other products. That's a lot of other uses, so how does this affect our skin? The most common side effect of formaldehyde in cosmetics is skin irritation, including scalp burns and hair loss. Whoa, I don't want any of that in my products, especially with my kids sensitive skin.

  • Sulfates - So this one isn't super dangerous. There have been numerous studies and nothing really has shown that it affects anything like hormones, fertility or cancer. But, one reason this one is out for me is because it's been known to be a skin irritant and as I mentioned above, I avoid things like that because of the kids. If you have acne issues, you will may want to stay away from this ingredient because it can clog pores.

All of these things (and there are more) can mess with the way your body produces hormones or the ways your cells replicate, which can cause cancer. Many other ingredients like 'fragrance' and 'colors' in body wash may also cause skin irritation, especially if you already have sensitive skin like my two kiddos. You would think that would be a little counterintuitive, right? I mean, shouldn't the soap that we use remove things that irritate your skin? Yea, not when it comes to these ingredients.


The Dirty Secret Behind the Word ‘Fragrances‘

Ok. So this ingredient is one I hate, because so many companies use it so loosely in products and they use the word to hide the true ingredient. And with that secrecy it makes it harder for the consumer to know what is the true scent and if it has the possibility of irritating your skin. "Fragrances can absolutely be sensitizing and cause eczema and other skin reactions," explained Dr. Marchbein —

The issue with calling out "fragrance" in general is that you're referring to a huge category comprising a lot of different kinds of ingredients and molecules.

- said Shari Marchbein, MD, a board-certified dermatologist and clinical assistant professor of dermatology at NYU School of Medicine


Within the word "fragrances" it can be a mix of several different types of ingredients, this is what can make it hard to pinpoint what actually is irritating your skin. Also some of these scents are synthetic and not natural (essential oils are considered natural.)


Another thing is that actually it has a LOT of unknown toxic chemicals that can be harmful to you. Without you knowing, fragrance can irritate skin, have toxic hormonal effects, and may even cause cancer. I know so many of those products we've been all using for yearsssss may smell fabulous, but it can lead to not-so-fabulous effects on your skin and health. So why put you’re body through all that when you can get a natural product with a great true all-natural from the earth fragrance ingredients.


Lovely smell

On the topic of scents - I am obsessed with 2 of The Seaweed Bath Co. Body Wash scents:

Sleep Restoring Body Wash - Calm (Vetiver + Geranium)


They really smell like the natural ingredients they say that is in it and not like those synthetic fragrances in other products.


I use 2 kinds because as a mom, my showers are not always at the same time of the day. There are days when I can only get in a late night shower or there are other days the kids are calm in the morning and I can take a morning (wake me up) shower. So depending on the time of day, will vary the wash I use. Let me tell you, both scents really helps my mind set its self for what is next (busy day with kids, so I use Awaken) or Calm for night when I am trying to fall asleep. Both scents are so nice and last through the day and/or night - how many body washes do that?


Spa like feel

Keeping up with my 2 kiddos is exhausting and knowing that I have 2 options (Calm or Awaken) to help me set the tone for the next part of my day or night is such a great feeling. The amazing lather this body wash creates and the scent it leaves behind, oh my goodness, it is just amazing! It's kind of like my own personal spa. I compare this product to a Spa not only because the experience but also because of how natural it is (check out the details of ALL of their ingredients.) Also, they truly care about the environment and how it can help us clean, heal and protect our skin - isn't that I spa like mentality? They are a company who cares.


All in all, there is something just so nice about ending the day and/or starting the day with a natural product that is combined with aromatherapeutic qualities. The Seaweed Bath Co. products are all really high quality and definitely improve your skin (kids + parents)! I highly recommend checking it out on Amazon or your local store! I have now found it at Whole Foods, Target and Walgreens. So it's an item to add to your home products that is clean, all-natural and easily accessible to restock your home with!


 

My two favorite products details:


Seaweed Bath Co only uses:

  1. Clinically proven ingredients

  2. Natural ingredients

All their products are also:

  • Cruelty-free

  • Gluten-free

  • Paraben-free

  • Sustainably harvested


CALM, Details

Rinse away the day to rest easy while gently cleansing and restoring your skin.

  • Organic, sustainably-harvested bladderwrack seaweed with 65+ vitamins and minerals detoxifies, hydrates and replenishes skin.

  • Calming oat milk and soothing chamomile gently hydrate and nourish.

  • Leaping Bunny Certified, Vegan, Cruelty Free, Gluten Free, Paraben Free, 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottle.

  • Use daily as a body wash or shaving gel.

  • 12 fl. oz.

CALM, FULL INGREDIENTS

Aqua (Water) with Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwrack Seaweed) and Chlorella Vulgaris Extracts, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium C14-C16 Olefin Sulfonate, Glycerin, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Avena Sativa (Oat Milk) Kernel Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Vetiveria Zizanioides (Vetiver) Root Oil, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Pogostemon Cablin (Patchouli) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Flower Oil, Juniperus Virginiana (Cedarwood) Oil, Amyris Balsamifera Bark Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycol Distearate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Sodium Laurylglucosides Hydroxypropylsulfonate, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Oil, Decyl Glucoside, Natural Isolates, Phenethyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract*. *Certified Organic


AWAKEN, Details

Purifying Detox Body Wash detoxifies and cleanses for softer, smoother-looking skin.

  • Organic, sustainably-harvested bladderwrack seaweed with 65+ vitamins and minerals naturally detoxifies and promotes skin elasticity.

  • Antioxidant-rich green coffee bean extract helps to detoxify and protect the skin against damaging free radicals.

  • Mineral-rich French clay helps to purify skin and wash away toxins and impurities.

  • Coconut oil, loaded with healthy fatty acids and vitamin E, provides long-lasting hydration.

  • Spirulina nourishes with Vitamins B1, B2, B3, copper, iron, magnesium, potassium and amino acids.

  • Leaping Bunny Certified, Vegan, Cruelty Free, Gluten Free, Paraben Free, 100% post-consumer recycled plastic bottle.

  • Use daily as a body wash or shaving gel.

  • Best for those who want a daily wash that cleans, detoxifies and nourishes skin.

  • 12 fl. oz.

AWAKEN, Full Ingredients

Aqua (Water) with Fucus Vesiculosus (Bladderwrack Seaweed) and Chlorella Vulgaris Extracts, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium C14-C16 Olefin Sulfonate, Glycerin, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil*, Avena Sativa (Oat Milk) Kernel Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Vetiveria Zizanioides (Vetiver) Root Oil, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe Vera) Leaf Juice, Sodium Hyaluronate (Hyaluronic Acid), Pogostemon Cablin (Patchouli) Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens (Geranium) Flower Oil, Juniperus Virginiana (Cedarwood) Oil, Amyris Balsamifera Bark Oil, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Glycol Distearate, Ethylhexylglycerin, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Sodium Laurylglucosides Hydroxypropylsulfonate, Linum Usitatissimum (Linseed) Seed Oil, Decyl Glucoside, Natural Isolates, Phenethyl Alcohol, Potassium Sorbate, Citric Acid, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract*. *Certified Organic




52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page